Sega Genesis Collection: Full List of Games Announced for PC, PS4, and Xbox One

Revisit the 16-bit era an your current-gen system with the Sega Genesis Collection, out in May...

Sega may no longer be the console-making powerhouse it once was, but that doesn’t mean it can’t look back at its 90s glory days from time to time. We’ve seen compilations of Mega Drive games before, including a disc of old games for the PlayStation 3 and a portable version for the PSP. Now, though, Sega’s bringing some of the console’s biggest games to the current generation of consoles.

The Sega Genesis Collection if you’re over in the States – is due out in May, and its existence was made known over on Twitter, seemingly by accident. An announcement appeared on Sega’s official feed, but was then swiftly retracted – but not before on Sonic The Hedgeblog captured it for posterity.

A new tweet shows off the trailer – which, in turn, gives a clue of what Sega will put on the collection. To nobody’s surprise, the big hitters are all there: Sonic The Hedgehog, Altered Beast, Golden Axe and so forth.

What’s a bit more significant, though, is that we also get a glimpse of Treasure’s unassailable run-and-gun classic, Gunstar Heroes; this wasn’t included on the last Mega Drive collection from the old generation of consoles, which might suggest that we’re in for a bit of a different line-up all round this time.

Ad – content continues below

Certainly, the old collection was remarkably light on shooting games, which was somewhat strange, given their dominance on the platform – we’d love to see the three Thunder Force titles gathered up in the new list, for example.

Here’s the full list of games:

Alex Kidd in the Enchanted Castle

Alien Soldier

Alien Storm

Altered Beast

Ad – content continues below

Beyond Oasis

Bio-Hazard Battle

Bonanza Bros.


Columns III: Revenge of Columns

Comix Zone

Ad – content continues below

Crack Down

Decap Attack

Dr. Robotnik’s Mean Bean Machine

Dynamite Headdy

ESWAT: City Under Siege

Fatal Labyrinth

Ad – content continues below

Ad – content continues below

Gunstar Heroes

Kid Chameleon


Light Crusader

Phantasy Star II

Phantasy Star III: Generations of Doom

Ad – content continues below

Phantasy Star IV: The End of the Millennium


Shadow Dancer: The Secret of Shinobi

Shining Force

Shining Force II

Shining in the Darkness

Ad – content continues below

Shinobi III: Return of the Ninja Master

Sonic 3D Blast

Sonic Spinball

Sonic the Hedgehog

Sonic the Hedgehog 2

Space Harrier II

Ad – content continues below

Streets of Rage

Streets of Rage 2

Streets of Rage 3

Super Thunder Blade

Sword of Vermilion

The Revenge of Shinobi

Ad – content continues below

ToeJam & Earl in Panic on Funkotron

ToeJam& Earl


VectorMan 2

Virtua Fighter 2

Wonder Boy III: Monster Lair

Ad – content continues below

Wonder Boy in Monster World

What’s also noteworthy is that, while the collection’s set for release on the PC, PS4 and Xbox One, Sega hasn’t mentioned the Nintendo Switch. An oversight, or is Sega really ignoring Nintendo’s versatile system? 

The Sega Genesis Collection will be released on May 29.