Buffy The Vampire Slayer: An Episode Roadmap For Beginners

144 episodes of any show sounds daunting, but we've got your covered on Buffy with this guide to all the important episodes!

This article is imported from Den of Geek UK. 

Have you always wanted to watch Buffy the Vampire Slayer, but know that you could never make the time for all 144 episodes? Have you seen all the episodes, but just want to rewatch the arc of a particular character? We’ve got the perfect guide for you right here that we dug back from the abyss that is our archive, put together way back in 2004 by one of our lovely contributors, Juliette. This episode roadmap is everything you’ll need for an abridged marathon of Joss Whedon’s (as far as this particular editor’s concerned anyway) magnum opus.

Since part of the aim of these articles is to encourage new viewers, spoilers will be kept to a minimum. However, due to the nature of the piece, certain elements of world-building, bad guy-revelation, late character arrivals, etc. will be spoiled, and looking at the details of one suggested “route” may spoil another.

Buffy The Vampire Slayer, Route 1: The Slayer’s Journey

Buffy The Vampire Slayer, the show that put Joss Whedon on the map, is about a petite blonde former cheerleader who kicks all sorts of vampire ass.At the heart of Buffy The Vampire Slayer is Buffy Summers herself, who gets put through the wringer over seven years on the show. But ultimately, her coming-of-age story is one of optimism as well as, on occasion, utter and total despair. Here are the episodes to watch to get a sense of Buffy’s story.

Ad – content continues below

Season One:

“Prophecy Girl”

We promised we’d keep Season One to a minimum, but “Prophecy Girl” is essential viewing for those following Buffy’s struggles with her dual identity as high school student and Slayer. As the season one finale, it may seem a strange episode to open with, but the plot is fairly self-explanatory and this is where we really see both Buffy as a character and Sarah Michelle Gellar in the part come into their own. Add initial two-parter Welcome To The Hellmouth/The Harvest as an optional extra, if you have time.

Season Two:

“When She Was Bad”

“What’s My Line” Parts 1 & 2


“Becoming” Parts 1 & 2

Ad – content continues below

Season Two’s opening episode “When She Was Bad” is not an all-time classic, but it is a good indication of where Buffy is following events at the climax of season one. “What’s My Line” introduces a second Slayer in Kendra (the eternally youthful Bianca Lawson) while “Surprise/Innocence” not only kicks off the arc plot that will culminate in season finale “Becoming,” but also covers some major coming-of-age ground. Finally, we end with season two’s spectacular finale and Buffy at her lowest, but also her strongest.

Season Three:




“Bad Girls/Consequences”

Ad – content continues below

“Graduation Day” Parts 1 & 2

Like “When She Was Bad,” “Anne” is not one of the show’s finest offerings, but it’s important for developing Buffy’s character in the wake of the Season Two finale. “Homecoming” is a light, fun episode, but it also explores some of the oft-neglected aspects of Buffy’s character, while the much darker “Helpless” continues her journey into adulthood. The back half of Season Three is pretty arc-heavy (so is the season as a whole, actually) so highlighting only one or two episodes will inevitably require some fairly careful attention to be paid to the “Previously Ons,” but “Bad Girls/Consequences” and “Graduation Day” are the most important for Buffy’s personal development. Add in “Choices” and “The Prom” if you have time.

Season Four:

“The Harsh Light of Day”

“The I In Team”

“The Yoko Factor/Primeval”

It’s not that Season Four doesn’t explore Buffy’s character, but with so much going on, she doesn’t get as much of a chance to shine (Gellar is fantastic in “Who Are You?” – but she’s playing a different character). The main downside to watching only four episodes is, of course, that the arc plot will have to be gleaned chiefly from Previously Ons.

Ad – content continues below

Season Five:

“Fool For Love”


“Blood Ties”

“The Body”

“The Weight of the World”

“The Gift”

Ad – content continues below

Whedon had planned for a long time to do 100 episodes and then conclude Buffy’s story. Although the series was renewed for a sixth season, he left his conclusion to the fifth unchanged and dealt with the repercussions in Season Six, so this is one possible ending to Buffy’s journey. This selection of episodes should also cover the main beats of Season Five’s overall arc, though obviously a certain amount of filling in the gaps will be required.

Season Six:

“Life Serial”

“Once More With Feeling”

“Normal Again”

Other characters are often the focal points of Season Six (Willow, Xander, Spike) but Buffy’s struggle to come to terms with what happened to her, as well as the challenges facing her in looking after her sister Dawn, ensure that she remains front and center. And of course, in the show’s fantastic musical episode, “Once More With Feeling,” everyone gets a chance to sing their hearts out and reveal their deepest emotions. Add “Bargaining” Parts 1 & 2 and “Older And Far Away” if you have time.

Season Seven:


Ad – content continues below