Link Tank: Best Sci-Fi Novels to Read For Fans of Dune

Sci-fi novels for Dune fans, the Cleveland Torso Murderer, GroupWatch on Disney+, and more in today's Link Tank!

Star Daughter by Shveta Thakrar

For fans of Dune and especially of the new Dune movie trailer, check out these new science fiction novels.

“When the official Dune trailer finally dropped, I (like many others, I’m sure) was blown away by the sheer magnificence of the world being introduced in this latest film adaptation. Frank Herbert’s sci-fi epic richly imagined a world full of deeply dazzling cosmic magic—and equally unsettling horror.”

Read more at The Mary Sue.

The Cleveland Torso Murderer was a serial killer in the 1930s—and he may be the scariest one you’ve never heard of.

Ad – content continues below

“Even in the throes of the Great Depression, there was a lot going on in Cleveland in 1936. Then the sixth-biggest city in the United States, Cleveland had sold itself as the “city of conventions,” welcoming travelers to downtown through its new union train station, with a variety of fancy hotels nearby and a state-of-the-art public auditorium.”

Read more at Mental Floss.

The enneagram personality test has exploded in popularity in the recent decade, but experts say it should not be taken seriously.

“While the enneagram test has been around for decades, its popularity is picking up speed. In work settings, it’s used for team-building and bonding. On social media, it’s used as a way to describe one’s place in the world and is popularized as a tool for introspection….But is the enneagram test actually legit?”

Read more at Inverse.

Disney+ is rolling out the much anticipated GroupWatch feature today. Here’s everything you need to know about it.

Ad – content continues below

“After launching pilots in Canada, Australia, and New Zealand earlier this month, GroupWatch officially launches in the United States today. Details of the feature surfaced earlier in some code found on the Disney+ website ahead of the release of Mulan. As that code indicated, up to seven accounts will be able to join a watch party among Disney+ subscribers.”

Read more at Gizmodo.

The Comey Rule on Showtime is worth a watch, if only for the many familiar faces and nothing else.

“Beginning with a clip of Stephen Colbert comparing former FBI Director James Comey to Professor Snape from the Harry Potter series, Showtime’s ripped-from-the-feed miniseries The Comey Rule immediately puts itself in a visual conversation with the media environment of this particularly dumb historical moment.”

Ad – content continues below

It’s been about a year since the launch of Apple TV+. Here’s a look at how Apple’s streaming service stacks up against competitors.

“A year ago, the odds that Apple could buy its way into the elite club of video streaming services like Netflix and HBO were not in Cupertino’s favor. Even with almost $200 billion in the bank, the idea of Apple creating quality content that critics and viewers alike would happily consume seemed just beyond the technology company’s reach.”