Star Wars on digital HD: trailers and pricing announced

Update: all six Star Wars films are out as HD downloads on the 10th April. Prices and trailers have been revealed...

Update: Yesterday, it was revealed that the first six episodes in the Star Wars saga are to be made available to buy digitally for the first time.

The movies will be made available worldwide on the same day – that’s the 10th April – along with a clutch of new and old features to accompany each film.

Disappointingly, we’ll be getting the later, digitally-modified Star Wars films rather than the original theatrical release.

It’s also fair to say that the prices won’t please everyone, either; a quick look on Xbox Video reveals that the full set’s going for £69.99, while the individual films will set you back £13.99.

Ad – content continues below

In the US, the prices are $89.99 for the set and $19.99 per episode; if Google’s calculator’s correct, that makes the American set cheaper than the British one by about £15. Given that the Star Wars saga’s still available on Blu-ray for about £50 (in a nice box and everything), the downloads aren’t particularly cheap.

Or, as Yoda might say, “A bargain this isn’t exactly.”

Anyway. To celebrate the imminent launch of the Star Wars digital saga, Disney has released a set of six trailers – that’s one for each episode, numerology fans. See what you think below.

Original story: Both the Original Trilogy and the Prequel Trilogy have had shiny releases on disc before, but this week, Star Wars will finally be going digital.

As the months tick down to the release of The Force Awakens, it’s been announced that the six previous Star Wars films are to be released as a digital HD collection.

In a deal between Fox, Disney and Lucasfilm, Episodes I to VI – that’s The Phantom Menace, Attack Of The Clones, Revenge Of The Sith, A New Hope, The Empire Strikes Back and Return Of The  Jedi, fact fans – will be available as downloads from outlets like Amazon, Google Play and iTunes.

What’s more, there’ll be a range of extras to complement each instalment, including deleted scenes, TV spots, some of the old making-of featurettes packaged on previous releases on disc, and a few additional conversations with Star Wars artists we haven’t seen before.

Ad – content continues below

Remember last year, when those rumours were circulating that an unmodified cut of the Original Trilogy was set to be released on Blu-ray? Well, there’s no mention at all that in Disney’s release, so they’re almost certainly the later, modified versions, but this seems to be the source of those rumours.

The Star Wars digital movie collection will be available to download either as a complete set or as individual movies from the 10th April, though pricing isn’t currently available – when it does, we’ll pass it along.

Disney says that the bonus content for each film may differ depending on the vendor, but here’s its list of what we might be able to expect:


Star Wars: Episode I The Phantom Menace

Conversations: Doug Chiang Looks Back

Ad – content continues below

Discoveries From Inside: Models & Miniatures

Legacy content includes “The Beginning”; The Podrace: Theatrical Edit; plus eight deleted scenes.


Star Wars: Episode II Attack of the Clones

Conversations: Sounds In Space

Discoveries From Inside: Costumes Revealed

Ad – content continues below

Legacy content includes “From Puppets To Pixels: Digital Characters In Episode II”; State Of The Art: The Previsualization Of Episode II; and “Films Are Not Released, They Escape”; plus Episode II Visual Effects Breakdown Montage and six deleted scenes.

Star Wars: Episode III Revenge of the Sith

Conversations: The Star Wars That Almost Was

Discoveries From Inside: Hologram & Bloopers

Legacy content includes documentaries “Within A Minute: The Making Of Episode III”; The Journey Part 1; and The Journey Part 2; plus six deleted scenes.


Ad – content continues below

Star Wars: Episode IV A New Hope (20th Century Fox)

Conversations: Creating A Universe

Discoveries From Inside: Weapons & The First Lightsaber

Legacy content includes “Anatomy Of A Dewback”; Star Wars Launch Trailer; plus eight deleted scenes.


Star Wars: Episode V The Empire Strikes Back

Ad – content continues below

Conversations: The Lost Interviews

Discoveries From Inside: Matte Paintings Unveiled

Legacy content includes “A Conversation With The Masters” (2010); “Dennis Muren: How Walkers Walk”; “George Lucas On Editing The Empire Strikes Back 1979”; and “George Lucas On The Force: 2010”; plus six deleted scenes.

Star Wars: Episode VI Return of the Jedi

Conversations: The Effects

Discoveries From Inside: The Sounds Of Ben Burtt

Ad – content continues below

Legacy content includes “Classic Creatures: Return Of The Jedi”; “Revenge Of The Jedi Teaser Trailer”; Return Of The Jedi Launch Trailer; “It Began TV Spot”; “Climactic Chapter TV Spot”; plus five deleted scenes.

Star Wars

Follow our Twitter feed for faster news and bad jokes right here. And be our Facebook chum here.