2016 Nebula Award Nominees Announced

The nominations for the annual genre awards have been announced. Did your favorite book, short story, movie, or TV show make the cut?

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America have announced their nominees for the 2016 Nebula Awards, which honor novels, novellas, novelettes, and short stories within the genre world. Though the main focus is fiction, the Nebulas also recognize genre TV and film with the Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation.

Awarded annually since 1966, the Nebulas are industry awards — voted on by other science fiction and fantasy authors. This differs from the Hugos, which rely on fan votes (or, more specifically, by supporting and attending members of WorldCon).

Voting for the Nebula Awards will begin on March 1st, with the awards to be presented at the Nebula Conference, which will run from May 18th to May 21st in Pittsburgh.

Here are the nominees…

Ad – content continues below

Best Novel

All the Birds in the Sky, Charlie Jane Anders (Tor; Titan)Borderline, Mishell Baker (Saga)The Obelisk Gate, N.K. Jemisin (Orbit US; Orbit UK)Ninefox Gambit,Yoon Ha Lee (Solaris US; Solaris UK)Everfair, Nisi Shawl (Tor)

Best Novella

Runtime, S.B. Divya (Tor.com Publishing)The Dream-Quest of Vellitt Boe, Kij Johnson (Tor.com Publishing)The Ballad of Black Tom, Victor LaValle (Tor.com Publishing)Every Heart a Doorway, Seanan McGuire (Tor.com Publishing)The Liar, John P. Murphy (F&SF)A Taste of Honey, Kai Ashante Wilson (Tor.com Publishing)

Best Novelette

“The Long Fall Up,” William Ledbetter (F&SF)“Sooner or Later Everything Falls Into the Sea,” Sarah Pinsker (Lightspeed)“Red in Tooth and Cog,” Cat Rambo (F&SF)“Blood Grains Speak Through Memories,” Jason Sanford (Beneath Ceaseless Skies)The Jewel and Her Lapidary, Fran Wilde (Tor.com Publishing)“You’ll Surely Drown Here If You Stay,” Alyssa Wong (Uncanny)

Best Short Story

“Our Talons Can Crush Galaxies,” Brooke Bolander (Uncanny)“Seasons of Glass and Iron,” Amal El-Mohtar (The Starlit Wood)“Sabbath Wine,” Barbara Krasnoff (Clockwork Phoenix 5)“Things With Beards,” Sam J. Miller (Clarkesworld)“This Is Not a Wardrobe Door,” A. Merc Rustad (Fireside Magazine)“A Fist of Permutations in Lightning and Wildflowers,” Alyssa Wong (Tor.com)“Welcome to the Medical Clinic at the Interplanetary Relay Station│Hours Since the Last Patient Death: 0,” Caroline M. Yoachim (Lightspeed)

Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation

Arrival, Directed by Denis Villeneuve, Screenplay by Eric Heisserer, 21 Laps Entertainment/FilmNation Entertainment/Lava Bear Films/XenolinguisticsDoctor Strange, Directed by Scott Derrickson, Screenplay by Scott Derrickson & C. Robert Cargill, Marvel Studios/Walt Disney Studio Motion PicturesKubo and the Two Strings, Directed by Travis Knight, Screenplay by Mark Haimes & Chris Butler; Laika EntertainmentRogue One: A Star Wars Story, Directed by Gareth Edwards, Written by Chris Weitz & Tony Gilroy; Lucusfilm/ Walt Disney Studio Motion PicturesWestworld: ‘‘The Bicameral Mind,’’ Directed by Jonathan Nolan, Written by Lisa Joy & Jonathan Nolan; HBOZootopia, Directed by Byron Howard, Rich Moore, & Jared Bush, Screenplay by Jared Bush & Phil Johnston; Walt Disney Pictures/Walt Disney Animation Studios

Andre Norton For Young Adult Science Fiction & Fantasy

The Girl Who Drank the Moon, Kelly Barnhill (Algonquin Young Readers)The Star-Touched Queen, Roshani Chokshi (St. Martin’s)The Lie Tree, Frances Hardinge (Macmillan UK; Abrams)Arabella of Mars, David D. Levine (Tor)Railhead, Philip Reeve (Oxford University Press; Switch)Rocks Fall, Everyone Dies, Lindsay Ribar (Kathy Dawson Books)The Evil Wizard Smallbone, Delia Sherman (Candlewick)