Destiny 2: Forsaken Trailer Reveals New Story Details

The Guardians are taking the fight to the Reef in the new story trailer for Destiny 2: Forsaken!

Bungie has announced Destiny 2: Forsaken, the big Year Two update for the online loot shooter. The game will feature new story missions and map areas, a new multiplayer mode called Gambit, four new Crucible maps, and a new raid called The Dreaming City. 

Destiny 2: Forsaken Trailer

The new story trailer reveals just who the Guardians are up against in Destiny 2‘s big Year Two expansion, Forsaken. Check it out below as the Vanguard take the fight to the Reef:

Here’s a story trailer that teases the death of Cayde-6. Check it out below:

Check out the Forsaken combat reveal below:

Here’s the reveal trailer:

Destiny 2: Forsaken Release Date

Destiny 2: Forsaken will drop on Sept. 4, 2018.

Destiny 2: Forsaken Story

Forsaken will take players back to The Reef, a destination featured in the first game that hasn’t appeared since 2015’s The Taken King. The story will see you join forces with Cayde-6 to fight seven Fallen barons, who have escaped from a high-security prison on the Reef. The studio will reveal more about Forsaken‘s story at E3 2018.

More details on The Dreaming City will be shared this summer. Bungie described the new raid as “like the Vault of Glass and Dreadnaught had a baby.” 

Ad – content continues below

Destiny 2: Forsaken Details

Gambit is a mix of PvP and PvE involving two teams in a race against each other to collect motes of light and defeat NPC enemies. In order to win, one team must kill PvE enemies while filling up an energy bank with motes. Teams are separated on the map by a barrier. Once one team has collected enough motes, it will be able to invade the other team’s space and eliminate them. The mode will live outside of the Crucible as its own location on the world map. 

Forsaken will also introduce a new weapons system to Destiny 2. Players will now have the ability to equip shotguns in your Kinetic slot, meaning that you could technically dive into the battlefield with three shotguns! A bow and arrow weapon is also coming to the game. New Super abilities, such as the self-explanatory Fire Knives, are expected as well.

Destiny 2: Forsaken DLC Roadmap

Bungie has announced the Annual Pass, a paid content pass that will include four premium content releases that will replace traditional Destiny expansion packs. Those releases include Forsaken in Fall 2018, Black Armory in Winter 2018, Joker’s Wild in Spring 2019, and Penumbra in Summer 2019. The drops will include new endgame challenges, weapons, armor, and other items. Each content release will begin a new season in the game. The Annual Pass costs $34.99.

The studio also dropped a new development roadmap that shows the remaining Year 1 Season 3 updates due on July 17 as well as the initial Year 2 add-ons:

We’ll keep you updated as we learn more about upcoming Destiny 2 DLC!

John Saavedra is Games Editor at Den of Geek. Read more of his work here. Follow him on Twitter @johnsjr9

Ad – content continues below