Prince Purple Rain Reissue Track List Revealed

The upcoming expanded reissue of Purple Rain will feature the first treasures from Prince’s vault.

The artist Prince, who died last year, was a true musician who immersed himself in sound. He spent most of his life on stage or in his home recording studio Paisley Park, where he recorded experiments, jams, and future sounds, and locked the unreleased tracks in a vault. In terms of musical hours, Prince barely released a portion of his output during his lifetime. The first treasures from his hidden cache will be officially released on the expanded edition of Purple Rain, which was remastered by engineer Bernie Grundman

The LP will include the original Purple Rain album, plus two discs of previously unreleased bonus material and a rumored set list has been published. The deluxe edition will include edits, extended mixes, B-sides and unreleased songs.

The edition will include: “The Dance Electric,” a song recorded by Andre Cymone that Prince performed live; “We Can F—” which featured George Clinton and was recorded during sessions for Prince’s 1990 Graffiti Bridge soundtrack; the ballad “Electric Intercourse” which was dropped to make room for “The Beautiful Ones,” another ballad; “Our Destiny;” “Possessed;” “Wonderful A—,” a duet with Wendy and Lisa; and “Father’s Song,” which Prince wrote with his father, John Nelson.

Variety reports that the package will also include a pair of concert films from the era. Reported speculation points to the Prince and the Revolution Live! video that was filmed in Syracuse, N.Y., in March of 1985 during the 100-date Purple Rain tour.

Ad – content continues below

Track Listing

Original Album Remastered

Let’s Go Crazy

Take Me With U

The Beautiful Ones

Computer Blue

Darling Nikki

When Doves Cry

I Would Die 4 U

Baby I’m a Star

Purple Rain

Disc 2: Edits & extended mixes

When Doves Cry (7” single edit)

17 Days (single edit)

Let’s Go Crazy (single edit)

Erotic City (single edit)

Purple Rain (single edit)

God (single edit)

God (Love Theme From Purple Rain) (instrumental)

Another Lonely Christmas (single edit)

I Would Die 4 U (single edit)

Baby I’m a Star (single edit)

Take Me With U (single edit)

Erotic City (extended version)

Another Lonely Christmas (extended version)

I Would Die 4 U (extended version)

Disc 3: From the Vault

The Dance Electric (11:29) bandmate Andre Cymone)

Love and Sex (5:00)

Computer Blue (“Hallway Speech” version) (12:18)

Velvet Kitty Cat (2:32)

Katrina’s Paper Dolls (3:30)

We Can F— (10:17)

Electric Intercourse (studio version) (4:57)

Our Destiny / Roadhouse Garden (6:25)

Possessed (7:56)

Wonderful A— (6:24)

Father’s Song (5:30)

We’ll update this with additional information when it becomes available.