David Bowie Rarities Come to Vinyl for Record Store Day

Hang on to yourself, rare David Bowie records will drop on Record Store Day 2018.

Here are we, one magical moment will be recaptured with the return of the Thin White Duke throwing darts in lovers’ eyes. Parlophone will issue three rare David Bowie records on Record Store Day 2018, including a London live performance, according to the official David Bowie News site. Limited editions of Welcome To The Blackout (Live London 1978), Let’s Dance (Demo) and a rare Berlin era United States promo album Bowie Now will be available on April 21. The reissues will only be available from “bricks and mortar” record shops.

Closing the European leg of Bowie’s Isolar II world tour, Welcome To The Blackout (Live London ’78) was recorded at Earls Court on the June 30, and July 1, 1978. Bowie fronted a seven piece band that included guitarists Carlos Alomar and Adrian Belew, George Murray on bass guitar, Dennis Davis on drums, keyboardists Sean Mayes and Roger Powell, and Simon House on electric violin. The concert was recorded by Tony Visconti and was mixed by David and David Richards at Mountain Studios, Montreux, 17th – 22nd January 1979. This is the first time the concert will be available on vinyl release, and also features photographs by Sukita and Chris Walter.

Let’s Dance (Full-Length Demo) c/w Let’s Dance (Live) is a 45 rpm 12” single. It includes the first appearance of the full length demo of the song “Let’s Dance.” The song was previously released in an edited form digitally for David’s birthday on January 8, 2018. The 7 minute and 34 second full-length demo was mixed by Nile Rodgers, who co-produced the demo with Bowie.

The demo is backed by the live version of “Let’s Dance,” recorded at Pacific National Exhibition Coliseum, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada, September 12, 1983. This version can be seen in the concert movie Serious Moonlight. It was also previously available on the AA side of the Australian David Bowie Is. It was mixed by Bob Clearmountain.

Bowie Now is a rare 1977 US only promotional-only LP on white vinyl. The songs come from the Low and Heroes albums. The audio is from the A New Career In A New Town box set. It was remastered by Tony Visconti. The record includes a newly designed inner sleeve with a rarely seen black and white image of David in Berlin in 1977.

Ad – content continues below

Parlophone, which re-released the Bowie’s “Berlin trilogy” (Low, Heroes, and Lodger) on February 23, will also release a limited-edition 45th anniversary reissue of 1973’s Aladdin Sane on silver vinyl on April 20. They will release a ChangesTwoBowie reissue on April 13.

Track listings:

David Bowie – Welcome To The Blackout (Live London ’78) (3 Lp Set)

Side 1

1. Warszawa

2. “Heroes”

3. What In The World

Side 2

1. Be My Wife

2. The Jean Genie

3. Blackout

4. Sense Of Doubt

Side 3

1. Speed Of Life

2. Sound And Vision

3. Breaking Glass

4. Fame

5. Beauty And The Beast

Side 4

1. Five Years

2. Soul Love

3. Star

4. Hang On To Yourself

5. Ziggy Stardust

6. Suffragette City

Side 5

1. Art Decade

2. Alabama Song

3. Station To Station

Side 6

1. TVC 15

2. Stay

3. Rebel Rebel

David Bowie – Let’s Dance (Full-Length Demo) (12” Single)

Side A

Let’s Dance (Full-length demo) (7.34)

Side B

Let’s Dance (Live) (4.34)

David Bowie – Bowie Now (White Vinyl Lp)

Side 1

1. V-2 Schneider

2. Always Crashing In The Same Car

3. Sons Of The Silent Age

4. Breaking Glass

5. Neuköln

Side 2

1. Speed Of Life

2. Joe The Lion

3. What In The World

4. Blackout

5. Weeping Wall

6. The Secret Life Of Arabia

Welcome To The Blackout (Live London 1978), Let’s Dance (Demo) and Bowie Now will be available on April 21.