Cameron Crowe Reissuing Singles Soundtrack with Deep Cuts

Cameron Crowe just happened to be nowhere near your neighborhood but he's dropping off the soundtrack to Singles.

Where are the anthems for our youth? What happened to music that meant something? Twenty Five years after Cameron Crowe’s coming-of-age-in-the-grunge-age film Singles hit theaters, the long rumored soundtrack will finally be reissued.

Singles: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack-Deluxe Edition doesn’t just reduce the music of Generation X to the Seattle Sound. Crowe would like to think of it as expanding more. Like, it will be huge in Europe.

“The album itself was always designed to be sort of an anti-soundtrack, more like a souvenir and a simple mix-tape of some of Seattle’s finest,” Crowe said in a statement.

“It really is and was a tribute to those hard-working bands that welcomed me to their city with open arms, and the music so many still love so much. Anyway, here we are now revisiting Singles, the film, as well as the soundtrack … expanded with a special tip of the hat to the fans of the original release. Included are unreleased and raw elements that helped shape the experience of making the movie back in 1991. Hope you enjoy the trip back as much as I did – viva Seattle!”

Ad – content continues below

The two CD reissue will include rarities, unreleased demos and live versions of sonic grunge coming from bands like Alice in Chains, Soundgarden, Smashing Pumpkins, the Replacements’ Paul Westerberg, Mudhoney and, of course, Pearl Jam. Eddie Vedder, Stone Gossard and Jeff Ament all acted in the film.

The unreleased material includes an early version of “Spoonman” done by Chris Cornell of Soundgarden, acoustic versions of Westerberg’s “Dyslexic Heart” and “Waiting for Somebody,” a live film version of Alice in Chains doing “Would”and  Citizen Dick doing “Touch Me I’m Dick” to the tune of Mudhoney’s “Touch Me I’m Sick.”

Here is the track list:

Disc 1:

1. “Would?” – Alice In Chains

2. “Breath” – Pearl Jam

Ad – content continues below

3. “Seasons” – Chris Cornell

4. “Dyslexic Heart” – Paul Westerberg

5. “Battle of Evermore” – The Lovemongers

6. “Chloe Dancer / Crown of Thorns” – Mother Love Bone

7. “Birth Ritual” – Soundgarden

8. “State of Love and Trust” – Pearl Jam

Ad – content continues below

9. “Overblown” – Mudhoney

10. “Waiting for Somebody” – Paul Westerberg

11. “May This Be Love” – Jimi Hendrix

12. “Nearly Lost You” – Screaming Trees

13. “Drown” – The Smashing Pumpkins

Disc 2:

Ad – content continues below

1. “Touch Me I’m Dick” – Citizen Dick

2. “Nowhere but You” – Chris Cornell

3. “Spoon Man” – Chris Cornell

4. “Flutter Girl” – Chris Cornell

5. “Missing” – Chris Cornell

6. “Would?” – Alice In Chains

Ad – content continues below

7. “It Ain’t Like That” – Alice In Chains

8. “Birth Ritual” – Soundgarden

9. “Dyslexic Heart” – Paul Westerberg

10. “Waiting for Somebody” – Paul Westerberg

11. “Overblown” – Mudhoney

12. “Heart and Lungs” – Truly

Ad – content continues below

13. “Six Foot Under” – Blood Circus

14. “Singles Blues 1” – Mike McCready

15. “Blue Heart” – Paul Westerberg

16. “Lost In Emily’s Woods” – Paul Westerberg

17. “Ferry Boat #3” – Chris Cornell

18. “Score Piece #4” – Chris Cornell

Ad – content continues below

The Singles soundtrack reissue will hit retailers on February 17 via Sony Music. The album will come out on 2CD and 2LP configurations.